Home > HBCU Sports > Post Content

St. Aug Men and Women repeat as CIAA Indoor Track Champions (3176 hits)

February 13, 2010

HAMPTON, VA Ė Saint Augustineís College swept the 2010 Indoor Track titles Saturday (Feb. 13) at the Boo Williams Sportsplex in Hampton, VA. In school history, todayís victories marked the 25th CIAA Indoor title for the SAC men and the 16th CIAA Indoor title for the SAC women.

In the menís standings, the Falcons cruised easily to victory posting 168 points, followed by Bowie State (94), Virginia Union (43), Johnson C. Smith (41), Saint Paulís (32), Virginia State (32) and Livingstone (1). SACís men took first place finishes in the 60 meter dash (Ramon Gittens), 200 meter dash (Antonio Abney), 400 meter dash (Josh Scott), 1 mile run (George Smith), triple jump (Brandon Quarles), 4x400 meter relay and the distance medley. Other top finishers in the menís competition include VUUís Geoffrey Langat (5,000 meter run), VUUís Melvin Edison (60 meter hurdles), SPCís Maurice Hall (menís high jump), SPCís Fred Boone (pole vault), BSUís William Bailey (long jump) and JCSUís Julius Wright (shot put).

In the womenís events, the Lady Falcons were in a class by themselves posting a total of 124 points, followed by followed by Johnson C. Smith (87), Bowie State (78), Virginia State (44), Virginia Union (18), Livingstone (12) and Saint Paulís (3). SACís women took first place finishes in the 60 meter dash (Barbara Pierre), 200 meter dash (Barbara Pierre), 400 meter dash (Angelique Smith), 800 meter run (Kyra Mobley), high jump (Andrea Powell), triple jump (Kirsten Fields), 4x400 meter relay and the distance medley. Other top finishers in the womenís events include BSUís Shamika Patton (1 mile run), JCSUís Shermaine Williams (60 meter hurdles), VSUís Dominique King (long jump) and BSUís Lakeshia Carney (shot put).

Saint Augustine Collegeís George Smith earned MVP honors for the running events on the menís side of the competition, accounting for 22.50 total points. Co-MVP awards were given for the field events to VSUís Brandon Quarles and Sean Johnson who each earned 14 points respectively. On the womenís side, Shermaine Williams (JCSU) landed MVP honors for the running events, posting 27 points. For the field events, Andrea Powell took top honors with 18 points.

The NCAA Division II Indoor Track and Field meet is set for March 12-13 in Albuquerque, NM.
Posted By:
Sunday, February 14th 2010 at 10:07PM
You can also click here to view all posts by this author...

Report obscenity | post comment
Share |
Please Login To Post Comments...

More From This Author
MEAC Basketball Tournament set
Geckleler brings balance and stability to Howard
Alabama State sweeps SWAC Men's and Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships
Why Historically Black Colleges Remain Relevant
Lee Moss Media Acquires HispanicPR.com and BlackEntrepreneurs.com
McGraw-Hill Recognized as ĎTop 50 Employerí by Equal Opportunity Magazine
FAMU Sends Aid Team to Haiti
HU Black Family Conference to Focus on Mind, Body and Spirit
Forward This Sports Entry!
HBCU Sports Home
Sponsored Content Create an Ad
Follow Us!
Link To Us!
Do you have a website? Link to HBCU Connect!