Location & Contact Information

1600 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive
Little Rock, Arkansas 72202
Main Phone: (501) 420-1200
Main Contact: Freddie Fox

Campus Queens

Student Members

Alumni Members

Arkansas Baptist College

     Arkansas Baptist College (ABC), originally known as the Minister’s Institute, was founded by both black and white religious leaders in 1884. Arkansas Baptist College is a private, historically black, four-year liberal arts college. Arkansas Baptist College is dedicated to the development of
graduates who are exceptionally educated, spiritually and culturally aware, and able to meet the demands of our rapidly advancing society.
     Located in downtown Little Rock, Arkansas, near the Rivermarket area and the Clinton Presidential Library, Arkansas Baptist College is unique in its contribution to higher education. ABC, a historically black college (HBCU), has a small, cohesive, student-centered environment with an open
enrollment policy, accepting all eligible students with a high school diploma or GED equivalent.
     As the only black, Baptist higher education institution west of the Mississippi River, ABC offers degrees in business administration, human services, criminal justice, public administration and religious studies. In addition, ABC is also committed to the total development of our students,
both educationally and spiritually.

Quick Facts

Undergrad Population: 1119
Graduate Population: 0
Student Body: Coed
In State Tuition: $15171
Out of State Tuition: $5074
Room & Board: $7834
Applications Due: Rolling Admissions ($25)
Conference: NJCAA
Mascot: Buffalo
Accreditations: NCACS,
Online Classes: no
Percent Men: 63%
Percent Women: 37%

Online Admissions Application:

Majors Offered

Business Administration
-Bachelor of Business Administration
-Associate of Arts in Business Administration

Interdisciplinary Studies
-Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies
-Associate of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies

Fine Arts
-Bachelor of Arts in Music Performance
-Associate of Arts in Music Business

Public Administration
-Bachelor of Arts in Public Administration
-Associate of Arts in Public Administration

Religious Studies
-Bachelor of Arts in Christian Education
-Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies
-Associate of Arts in Christian Leadership
-Associate of Arts in Christian Education
-Associate of Arts in Religious Studies

Social and Behavioral Sciences
-Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice
-Bachelor of Arts in Human Services

Sports & Extra Curricular Activities
Choral Groups, Fraternities, Sororities, Student Newspaper
College History
     In August, 1884 at the Annual Convention, the Colored Baptists of the State of Arkansas, founded the "minister's Institute." Three months later in November of 1884, the school opened at the Mount Zion Church in Little Rock, Arkansas. The school was renamed "Arkansas Baptist College," in April 1885.
     According to its historical mission, Arkansas Baptist College was founded with the primary goal of raising the educational level of the Negro ministry, with the secondary goal being to assist the state of Arkansas in preparing young Negro men and women with a "normal" education. These goals have since been expanded to providing educational opportunities to all persons seeking an education without regard to age, sex, race, religion, or national origin.
     The Executive Board of the Convention hired Reverend J.P. Lawson, a white Baptist minister from Joplin, Missouri, to serve as the principal teacher. A block of land was purchased for $5000 from Attorney Blake Turner at 16th and High Street within the city limits of Little Rock. It was here at this site that several buildings were erected and the Arkansas Baptist College campus came into being, and remains to this day.
     The first president was Dr. Joseph A. Booker who served from 1887 until his death in 1926. He was succeeded by Reverend S. P. Nelson, Reverend R.C. Woods and Reverend S. R. Tillinghast respectively. Dr. Tandy W. Coggs, the fifth president, served from 1937-1955. It was during the tenure of Dr. Coggs in 1947 that the college received its initial two year accreditation from the Arkansas State Department of Education. President Coggs was succeeded respectively by Dr. Oscar Allan Rogers, Dr. Charles E. Johnson, Mr. Howard Johnson and Dr. P. L. Rowe. On July 1, 1962, Dr. James C. Oliver was elected as the tenth president of Arkansan Baptist College. During Dr. Oliver was also successful in getting Arkansas Baptist College placed on the North Central Association list for candidacy status. He operated the college on a cash debt-free basis, until the end of his tenure. When poor health forced Dr. Oliver to relinquish his active role as president, Dr. R. C. Davis, Title III Coordinator, became the interim president for approximately three years.
     Dr. W. Thomas Keaton was elected as the eleventh President on July 26, 1985. Under his administration, Arkansas Baptist College received full accreditation from the Commission on Higher Learning of the North Central Association and the national Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). Other notable improvements during his administration include the computerization of the campus library, construction of the Hazel Shanks Henson Multi-purpose Center, the W. T. Keaton Men's Residence Hall, and the renovation of the college gymnasium. Dr. Keaton retired in August 2001 and Mrs. Mary R. Jarrett, Vice-President for Academic Affairs, was appointed as Interim President until October 2001.
     Dr. Israel R. Dunn, Jr. was elected as the twelfth President of Arkansas Baptist College in October of 2001. However, his tenure did not commence until February 2002. Dr. Dunn's visionary plan propelled the college into a "mode of change." He attempted to reorganize and restructure the campus by implementing a Four-Tier Priority Plan for institutional advancement that included the following components: Enrollment Management, Internal Controls and Improved Infrastructure, Student Services, and Facilities Planning.
     Dr. Dunn resigned in May 2005. Mrs. Mary Jarrett was appointed by the Board of Trustees to serve as Acting President. The appointment lasted until February 2006. The thirteenth President, Dr. Fitzgerald Hill, was elected in January and assumed office on February 1, 2006.
More Campus Photos
Unique Programs
News and Upcoming Events at Arkansas Baptist College

HBCU of the Month.....JULY 2005!!!!
Join the Tom Joyner Foundation as we raise funds for deserving students at a different HBCU each month. ARKANSAS BAPTIST COLLEGE ** ...
When choosing a major, you want to select an affordable degree program that will support you on your chosen career path. At Arkansas Baptist College, ...
The Wall
Future spot for testimonials, comments, pictures, video