Blogs Menu

Blogs
View Latest Posts
View Subscriptions
Posting Instructions

Active Bloggers

Kennedy Williams Kennedy Williams
Spelman College class of 2020
Reggie Culpepper Reggie Culpepper
Clark Atlanta University class of 1998
Ciearra Smith Ciearra Smith
North Carolina A&T State University class of 2013
Lailah Berry Lailah Berry
Kent State University class of 2020
HBCU CONNECT HBCU CONNECT
Central State University class of 1995
LaMarr Blackmon LaMarr Blackmon
Cal St Univ, Long Beach class of 1992
Will Moss Will Moss
Hampton University class of 1995
Joel Savage Joel Savage
class of 1993

6 Essential Books by Black Authors!

6 Essential Books by Black Authors!
Posted By: Maya Lewis on July 30, 2020

The power of black books can never be overstated. They tell our stories accurately and ensure our legacies are never erased — but instead cemented. They are tools to educate, entertain, and empower! With that in mind, here are 6 essential books by black authors to read right now:

1. THEIR EYES WERE WATCHING GOD by Zora Neale Hurston
One of the most important and enduring books of the 20th century, THEIR EYES WERE WATCHING GOD brings to life a Southern love story with the wit and pathos found only in the writing of Zora Neale Hurston. Out of print for almost thirty years—due largely to initial audiences’ rejection of its strong black female protagonist—Hurston’s classic has since its 1978 reissue become perhaps the most widely read and highly acclaimed novel in the canon of African-American literature.

2. DEFINING MOMENTS IN BLACK HISTORY by Dick Gregory
With his trademark acerbic wit, incisive humor, and infectious paranoia, one of our foremost comedians and most politically engaged civil rights activists looks back at 100 key events from the complicated history of black America.

3. MY VANISHING COUNTRY by Bakari Sellers
CNN analyst and one of the youngest state representatives in South Carolina history Bakari Sellers illuminates the lives of America’s forgotten black working-class men and women in the rural south.



Part memoir, part historical and cultural analysis, MY VANISHING COUNTRY is an eye-opening journey through the South's past, present, and future.

4. OPEN SEASON by Ben Crump
Award-winning attorney Ben Crump exposes a heinous truth in OPEN SEASON: Whether with a bullet or a lengthy prison sentence, America is **** black people and justifying it legally. It's more than Crump’s incredible mission to preserve justice, it is a call to action for Americans to begin living up to the promise to protect the rights of its citizens equally and without question.

5. THE SECRET WOMEN by Sheila Williams
The author of DANCING ON THE EDGE OF THE ROOF, now a Netflix film starring Alfre Woodard, returns with a riveting, emotionally rich, novel that explores the complex relationship between mothers and daughters in a fresh, vibrant way—a stunning page-turner for fans of Terry McMillan, Tayari Jones, and Kimberla Lawson Roby.

6. SAT IT LOUDER!: Black Voices, White Narratives and Saving Our Democracy by Tiffany D. Cross
Clark Atlanta University alumni and breakout political analyst, Tiffany Cross delivers a sweeping snapshot of American Democracy and the role that African Americans have played in its shaping while offering concrete information to help harness the electoral power of the country’s rising majority and exposing political forces aligned to subvert and suppress Black voters.

Check out these titles and more at the link: https://bit.ly/3jYg7MA

If you enjoyed this article, Join HBCU CONNECT today for similar content and opportunities via email!
Comments
Please Login To Post Comments...
Email:
Password:

 
More From This Author
A Conversation with Miss Cicely Tyson & Whoopi Goldberg!
Latest Blogs
7 X Grammy Winners MARILYN MCOO & BILLY DAVIS JR Are Back With Riveting New Single

7 X Grammy Winners MARILYN MCOO & BILLY DAVIS JR Are Back With Riveting New Single

The Legandary Duo MARILYN MCCOO & BILLY DAVIS JR Release Riveting New Single & Video "Blackbird" Video: Marilyn McCoo & Billy Davis Jr “Blackbird”(Mike City Mix) https://www.dropbox.com/sh/rrcng ...more
LaMarr Blackmon • 76 Views • April 20th, 2021
Zea Zoo & The Land Of Boo Is A Urban Fairytale A Graphic Novel For Children Available On Paperback & EBook

Zea Zoo & The Land Of Boo Is A Urban Fairytale A Graphic Novel For Children Available On Paperback & EBook

Zea Zoo & The Land Of Boo A Urban Fairytale https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/57792111-zeazoo-land-of-boo Interview With PD Blackmon https://internationalbookpromotion.com/2021/04/14/an-intervi ...more
LaMarr Blackmon • 51 Views • April 19th, 2021
How to Avoid Job Application Intimidation

How to Avoid Job Application Intimidation

Why many young and older men need guidance with job applications in the digital era. ...more
Kamal Imani • 93 Views • April 16th, 2021
Need a Summer Job? 4 Ideas for Work Between College Semesters

Need a Summer Job? 4 Ideas for Work Between College Semesters

Having extra time between college semesters can be an opportunity for earning money. Besides this, you have the chance to acquire skills and have new experiences. You also don't have to waste your day ...more
Dixie Somers • 60 Views • April 16th, 2021
Project Sustainability: Strategies, Processes and Plans

Project Sustainability: Strategies, Processes and Plans

This book focuses on the evaluative analysis of various sustainability benchmarks, metrics, measurement, indexes, parameters and characteristics involved in the effective and efficient implementation ...more
John Morfaw • 71 Views • April 15th, 2021
Popular Blogs
Divorce in America in 2009 – What’s love got to do, got to do with it?

Divorce in America in 2009 – What’s love got to do, got to do with it?

Join Brother Marcus and the cast and the crew of the Brother Marcus Show live this Sunday evening on February 1, 2009 @ 8:00 p.m. for another hot topic in our community! “Divorce in America in 2009 ...more
Brother Marcus! • 13,693,216 Views • January 27th, 2009
VISINE ALERT!!!

VISINE ALERT!!!

Seemingly innocent medication such as Visine eyedrops are used by people to concoct a mixture with similar effects as a date-rape drug. When mixed with alcohol and taken orally, the eyedrops can l ...more
Siebra Muhammad • 49,691 Views • May 23rd, 2009
THE MOST FAMOUS WORDS IN NASCAR RACING IS NOW

THE MOST FAMOUS WORDS IN NASCAR RACING IS NOW "GOTCHA" THIEF !

IT'S PRETTY OBVIOUS FOLKS: Some of our Republican senators and congressman..are Swearing & Wearing White Sheets Also ..NASCAR was given 70million dollars in tax breaks ..in the New Fiscal Cliff Deal ...more
David Right • 44,537 Views • December 28th, 2012
Black College Student Sentenced to 12 Years in Prison for Kissing a White Girl

Black College Student Sentenced to 12 Years in Prison for Kissing a White Girl

Albert N. Wilson, a former University of Kansas student, has been sentenced to 12 years in prison and a lifetime of probation after being convicted by an all-white jury of raping a white teen girl. Bu ...more
Will Moss • 37,435 Views • June 4th, 2020
Black History Daily:  Who Was the First Black Female Dentist?

Black History Daily: Who Was the First Black Female Dentist?

In 1890 Ida Gray Nelson Rollins (1867-1953) became the first black woman to earn a doctor of dental surgery degree in the United States. She graduated from the University of Michigan in June. Nelson ...more
Stacie Coulter • 24,488 Views • August 22nd, 2011
Please Give Us a Like on Facebook!